BOT Members

Breastfeeding Campaign in Bangladesh was initiated in early 1980s by a group of child health professionals who were concerned about the alarming erosion of breastfeeding practices and its effect on the nutritional and health status of children. This has coincided with the UNICEF child health revolutionary concept of growth monitoring, oral dehydration, breastfeeding and universal child immunization. The breastfeeding movement was formalized as Campaign for the Protection and Promotion of Breastfeeding (CPPBF) in 1989 through the formation of a task force comprising health professionals, nutritionists, scientists, UN agencies and NGO’s Later CPPBF became known as the Bangladesh Breastfeeding Foundation (BBF).

Member list of Board of Trustees (BOT) from 2015-2017

SL Name Title
1 Dr. M A Mannan Vice Chairperson, BOT, BBF  National Nutrition Advisor, FAO, Dhaka
2 Prof. Soofia Khatoon Vice Chairperson BOT, BBF  Senior Scientist, ICDDRB, Dhaka
3 Prof. Dr. Saria Tasnim Secretary, BOT, BBF  Secretary of BOT,BBF Ex- Executive Director, ICMH
4 Dr. Ishtiaque Abidur Zaman Treasurer of BOT, BBF   Chief Adviser, CCL
5 Prof. Dr. Begum Sharifun Nahar Member of BOT, BBF  Professor of Paediatics and Neonatology- S.S.M.C & Mitford Hospital
6 Khandakar Md. Rezaul Haque Member of BOT, BBF  Physician
7 Dr. Nurul Alam Member of BOT, BBF  Senior Scientist, ICDDRB
8 Dr. A.M.R Chowdhury Member of BOT,BBF  Vice Chairperson, BRAC
9 Prof. Syeda Afrose Jahan Mousumi Member of BOT, BBF  Head of Dept. Food and Nutrition, National College of Home Economics.
10 Dr. Khurshid Talukder Member of BOT, BBF  Consultant Pediatrician & Research Coordinator, Centre for Woman and Child Health
11 Mr. Tofail Md. Alamgir Azad PhD Member of BOT, BBF  Senior Communication Specialist BKMI, BCCP
12 Prof. Moffashara Sultana Ratna Member of BOT,BBF  Associate Prof. Food and Nutrition Dept. Home Economics College
13 Prof. Monisha Banarjee Member of BOT, BBF  Prof. Neonatology Dept. Dhaka Medical College, Dhaka